Collect. Czech. Chem. Commun. 1985, 50, 2077-2083

Synthesis and reactions of β-substituted derivatives of furan

Adolf Jurášek, Vladimír Žvak, Jaroslav Kováč, Oľga Rajniaková and Jarmila Štetinová

Department of Organic Chemistry, Slovak Institute of Technology, 812 37 Bratislava


The 1,4-cycloaddition reaction of 4-phenyl-1,3-oxazole to 2-propinyl benzoate and dimethyl butinedioate afforded the respective 3-furylmethyl benzoate (I) and 3,4-bis(methoxycarbonyl)furan (II). These compounds served for the synthesis of 3-chloromethylfuran and 3,4-bis(chloromethyl)furan, which afforded via Wittig reaction 3-(β-arylvinyl)furans III (aryl = 5-nitro-2-furyl (IIIa), 5-nitro-2-thienyl (IIIb), 1-methyl-4-nitro-2-pyrrolyl (IIIc), and 4-nitrophenyl (IIIe)) and 3,4-bis(β-arylvinyl)furans IV (aryl = 5-nitrofuryl (IVa), 5-nitro-2-thienyl (IVc), and 4-nitrophenyl (IVd)). According to spectral evidence (1H NMR, IR, UV spectra), compound IIIa and IIIb originated as E isomers, whilst the remaining products are a mixture of E and Z isomers; some couples were succeded to separate.